Lab-STICC / UBS

Research laboratory of the University of Southern Brittany

University of Southern Brittany (UBS) :

The University of Southern Brittany is located in Lorient and Vannes, it has 10000 students and 500 teacher-researchers in 14 laboratories including 6 supported by the CNRS.

Lab-STICC "From sensors to knowledge: communicate and decide" :

Lab-STICC "From sensors to knowledge: communicate and decide" :
The Lab-STICC is the Laboratory of Sciences and Techniques Information, Communication and Knowledge. It is located in the cities of Brest, Quimper, Lorient and Vannes, and is implanted within several schools and universities, including the University of Southern Brittany.

Lab-STICC / UBS and Seanatic project

UBS will participate in the project through two of its research teams from UMR 6285 Lab-STICC based at the Lorient site: the SHAKER team (Software / HArdware and unKnown Environment inteRactions) and the FHOOX team (Human Factors, Organizational and autOmatic factors in complex systems).

  • SHAKER, aims at the potentially joint modeling of software and hardware architectures in order to optimize at the design stage or online in real time the performance of a complex system depending on the constraints and hazards related to its environment. These systems can be of the system-on-chip type, embedded systems, sensor networks up to edge/cloud computing. The favourite fields of application are autonomous vehicles, critical systems and IoT in particular in the context of the Industry of the Future, space, sea and home care.
  • FHOOX, aims at modeling and optimizing human-system cooperation, in sociotechnical systems (STS) ranging from man-machine systems to organization. These systems integrate autonomous, cooperative, intelligent and reconfigurable agents in dynamic situations. 3 main scientific axes are treated:
    • Axis 1: Modeling and evaluation of dynamic capabilities within the STS
    • Axis 2: Modeling and simulation of behavior and cooperative activities in STS
    • Axis 3: Designing safe and reconfigurable STS and optimizing cooperation

This work is carried out in several application areas: transportation systems (maritime, automotive, air), production systems (Factory of the Future, Smart Grid, Fishing), security systems and crisis management (SDIS56, 29 and 35, Industrial Cybersecurity Center).

Contributions to the Seanatic project

UBS presents two main contributions to the Seanatic project: Embedded Intelligence, and Human-System Interfaces (HSI).

Embedded Intelligence :

Prediction of maintenance operations

The first objective of the Seanatic project is to provide a maintenance assistance tool to anticipate functional breakdowns and improve the logistics of intervention phases.

  • Definitions :
    • Preventive maintenance: periodic intervention depending on the manufacturer's recommendations;
    • Predictive maintenance: intervention anticipated and deduced according to control measures;
    • corrective maintenance: unplanned intervention following an operating incident.

The implementation of predictive maintenance will take advantage of automatic learning tools and environments made accessible by the development of artificial intelligence but with the particularity of aiming at parsimonious approaches. 

Optimization of data transfers between ship and shore

In the framework of predictive maintenance, one of the objectives is to optimize the transfer of useful data between the ship and the cloud, through the design and deployment of an onboard component (Smart Antenna Box) and its interface on land (Smart Antenna Hub) whose main functions will be an adaptability to the quality and presence of communication links (SATCOM and terrestrial) and to the types of data (real-time or non-real-time transmission needs).

Human-System Interfaces :

Design of a Human-System Interface (HSI) for data retrieval.

Within the framework of the Seanatic project, one of the objectives is to develop and deploy a Human-System Interface (HSI) that will be : 

  • Appropriate (i.e. which aims at increasing the possibilities of action of individual users on their activity),
  • Ecological (i.e. making the user aware of the constraints and complex relationships of the supervised system in its environment, in order to limit the cognitive effort that the operator must implement to process the information);
  • Adaptive (i.e. adapted to the states of individuals - skills, mental load, etc.).

 Discover Lab-STICC website

Lab-STICC / UBS

Laboratoire de recherche de l'Université de Bretagne-Sud

Université de Bretagne-Sud (UBS) :

L’Université de Bretagne Sud est située à Lorient et Vannes, elle compte 10000 étudiants et 500 enseignants chercheurs au sein de 14 laboratoires dont 6 soutenus par le CNRS.

Logo

Lab-STICC « Des capteurs à la connaissance : communiquer et décider » :

Le Lab-STICC est le Laboratoire des Sciences et Techniques de l'Information, de la Communication et de la Connaissance. Il est présent sur les villes de Brest, Quimper, Lorient et Vannes, et est implanté au sein de plusieurs écoles et universités, dont l’Université de Bretagne Sud.

Thumbnail logo labsticc

Lab-STICC / UBS et le projet Seanatic

l’UBS participera au projet au travers de deux de ses équipes de recherche de l’UMR 6285 Lab-STICC présentes sur le site de Lorient : l’équipe SHAKER (Software / HArdware and unKnown Environment inteRactions) et l’équipe FHOOX (Facteurs Humains, Organisationnels et autOmatique dans les systèmes compleXes).

  • SHAKER, vise la modélisation potentiellement conjointe des architectures logicielles et matérielles dans le but d’optimiser à la conception ou en ligne temps réel les performances d’un système complexe en fonction des contraintes et aléas liés à un son environnement. Ces systèmes peuvent être du type système sur puce, système embarqué, réseau de capteurs jusqu’au couple edge/cloud computing et les domaines d’application privilégiés sont les véhicules autonomes, les systèmes critique et l’IoT notamment dans le contexte de l’Industrie du futur, du spatial, de la mer et du maintien à domicile.
  • FHOOX, vise la modélisation et l'optimisation de la coopération homme-système, dans des systèmes sociotechniques (SST) allant du système homme-machine à l'organisation. Ces systèmes intègrent des agents autonomes, coopératifs, intelligents et reconfigurables dans les situations dynamiques. 3 principaux axes scientifiques sont traités :
    • Axe 1 : Modélisation et évaluation des capacités dynamiques au sein du SST
    • Axe 2 : Modélisation et simulation du comportement et des activités de coopération dans les SST
    • Axe 3 : Conception de SST sûrs et reconfigurables et optimisation de la coopération

Ces travaux sont menés dans plusieurs domaines d’application : systèmes de transport (maritime, automobile, aérien), systèmes de production (Usine du Futur, Smart Grid, Pêche), système de sécurité et gestion de crise (SDIS56, 29 et 35, Centre de Cybersécurité industrielle).

Contributions au projet Seanatic

L’UBS présente deux contributions principales au sein du projet Seanatic: Intelligence Embarquée, et Interfaces Humains-Systèmes (IHS).

Intelligence embarquée :

Prédiction d’opération de maintenances

Le premier objectif du projet Seanatic est d’apporter un outil d’assistance à la maintenance pour anticiper les pannes fonctionnelles et améliorer la logistique des phases d’intervention.

  • Définitions :
    • maintenance préventive : intervention périodique dépendante des recommandations constructeurs ;
    • maintenance prédictive : intervention anticipée et déduite en fonction de mesures de contrôle ;
    • maintenance corrective : intervention non-prévue suite à un incident de fonctionnement.

La mise en oeuvre de maintenance prédictive tirera profit des outils et environnements d’apprentissage automatique rendus accessibles par le développement de l’intelligence artificielle mais avec la particularité de viser des approches parcimonieuses. 

Optimisation des transferts de données entre le navire et la terre

Dans le cadre de la maintenance prédictive, un des objectifs est d’optimiser le transfert de données utiles entre le navire et le cloud, à travers la conception et le déploiement d’un composant embarqué (Smart Antenna Box) et son interface à terre (Smart Antenna Hub) dont les principales fonctions seront une adaptabilité à la qualité et présence des liens de communications (SATCOM et terrestre) et aux types de données (Besoins de transmissions en temps réels ou non).

Interfaces Humains-Systèmes :

Conception d’une interface humain-système (IHS) pour la restitution des données

Dans le cadre du projet Seanatic, un des objectifs est de développer et déployer une interface Humain-Système (IHS) qui sera : 

  • Appropriable (i.e. qui vise l’accroissement des possibilités d’actions des individus utilisateurs sur leur activité),
  • Écologique (i.e. rendant saillant pour l’utilisateur les contraintes et les relations complexes du système supervisé dans son environnement, afin de limiter l’effort cognitif que l’opérateur doit mettre en oeuvre pour traiter l’information) ;
  • Adaptative (i.e. adaptée aux états des individus – compétences, charge mentale, etc.).

Découvrir le site Lab-STICC